top of page
photo%20teasing%20clip_edited.jpg

JOURNEY

Between a poet mother and a lawyer father – defender, among others, of Hara-Kiri (predecessor of Charlie Hebdo) – Caloé has something to hold on to! But this independence of spirit and this almost "congenital" taste for freedom, which finds its embodiment in her approach to music, will not constitute the only sources from which the artist will drink. Raised in a family of music lovers, rocked by classical music and French songs from her earliest childhood, she discovered herself as a musician at the age of 4, choosing the violin. Very quickly, improvisation will become part of her language. She takes the instrument out of its box whenever the opportunity arises, to accompany a text by her mother or a guitarist who passes by, before discovering jazz as a teenager. This music will never leave her.

But the singularity of this career did not immediately lead her to dream of being a jazz singer, since she first studied opera singing (at the École Normale in Paris) as well as the jazz violin, with Pierre Blanchard. Gradually, she tamed her art and forged a style over the course of experiences and encounters, such as with the musicians of the Hot Sugar Band, a swing dance group with which she traveled on the roads of France and Europe, definitively dropping the violin to devote herself fully to her new instrument: the voice.

 

In order to develop her own language, Caloé wants to confront the roots. She then decides to go on a trip, on the other side of the ocean. Roots of Jazz, in New York and New Orleans, where she will meet trumpeter Ashlin Parker. Birthplace of samba and bossa nova, in Brazil, where she will stay for three months. A way also to explore the “seasons” (“so different, she says, from one end of the world to the other”), which will feed her inspiration.

Caloé sings and composes, writing texts and music, making vocal improvisation a playground and one of her assets, whether in the interpretation of the melodies she revisits or by resorting to scat, which she worked for a long time to master  in her own way. Marked with poetry, the lyrics of her songs, in French and in English, blend with an eclectic jazz, rich in its multiple influences.

In "Saisons", her first record, we find traces of Saint-Germain-des-Prés (song L'été) atmospheres, a way of revisiting the 3 beats and celebrating the waltz in the great French tradition (Les gouttes), accompanied by acquaintances with the most modern jazz (Autumn is coming, Printemps, Chiir...).

“This disc is my way of making you travel through my eyes and your ears”, declares the artist. Her rapped exchanges with L'Oiseau Fou (Hope) or her cover of one of the hits of the Brazilian composer Cartola (As rosas nao falam) show in any case that she has more than one string to her bow.

Caloé invites us to discover this tangy and vintage universe, as Thomas Lécuyer describes it (programmer whose favourite she was), who already has a great experience to her credit, on the French and international stages (Istanbul, Stockholm, Oslo, Latvia, Montenegro...), where she had the opportunity to rub shoulders with very big names, such as drummer Dave Weckl.

bottom of page

photo%20teasing%20clip_edited.jpg

PARCOURS

Entre une mère poétesse et un père avocat – défenseur, entre autres, d’Hara-Kiri – Caloé a de qui tenir ! Mais cette indépendance d’esprit et ce goût quasi « congénital » de la liberté, qui trouvera à s’incarner dans son approche de la musique, ne constitueront pas les seules sources auxquelles s’abreuvera l’artiste. Élevée dans une famille de mélomanes, bercée par la musique classique et la chanson dès sa plus tendre enfance, elle se découvre musicienne dès l’âge de 4 ans, en choisissant le violon. Très rapidement, l’improvisation va faire partie de son langage. Elle sort l’instrument de sa boîte chaque fois que l’occasion se présente, pour accompagner un texte de sa mère ou un guitariste qui passe par là, avant de découvrir le jazz à l’adolescence. Cette musique ne la quittera plus.

Mais la singularité de ce parcours ne la conduit pas d’emblée à se rêver en « chanteuse de jazz », puisqu’elle étudie d’abord le chant lyrique (à l’École Normale) ainsi que le violon jazz, avec Pierre Blanchard. Peu à peu, elle apprivoise son art et se forge un style, au fil des expériences et des rencontres, comme avec les musiciens du Hot Sugar Band, groupe de swing à danser avec lequel elle part sur les routes de France et d’Europe, lâchant définitivement le violon pour se consacrer pleinement à son nouvel instrument : la voix.

 

Afin d’élaborer son propre langage, Caloé veut se confronter aux racines. Elle décide alors de partir en voyage, de l’autre côté de l’Océan. Racines du jazz, à New York et à la Nouvelle-Orléans, où elle rencontrera le trompettiste Ashlin Parker. Berceau de la samba et de la bossa nova, au Brésil, où elle séjournera durant trois mois. Une manière aussi d’explorer les « saisons » (« si différentes, dit-elle, d’un bout à l’autre du monde »), qui vont nourrir son inspiration.

Caloé chante et compose, écrivant textes et musique, faisant de l’improvisation vocale un terrain de jeu et l’un de ses atouts, que ce soit dans l’interprétation des mélodies qu’elle revisite ou en recourant au « scat », qu’elle a longuement travaillé pour le maîtriser à sa manière. Empreintes de poésie, les paroles de ses chansons, en français et en anglais, se marient à un jazz éclectique, riche de ses influences multiples.

Dans "Saisons", son premier disque, on retrouve des traces d’atmosphères « Saint-Germain-des-Prés » (L’été), une façon de revisiter le 3 temps et de célébrer la valse dans la grande tradition française (Les gouttes), assorties d’accointances avec le jazz le plus moderne (Autumn is coming, Printemps, Chiir...). « Ce disque, c’est ma manière de vous faire voyager à travers mes yeux et vos oreilles », déclare l’artiste. Ses échanges « rappés » avec L’Oiseau Fou (Hope) ou sa reprise d’un des tubes du compositeur brésilien Cartola (As rosas nao falam) montrent en tout cas qu’elle a bien plus d’une corde à son arc.

C’est à la découverte de cet univers « acidulé et vintage », comme le qualifie Thomas Lécuyer (programmateur dont elle fut le « coup de cœur »), que nous convie Caloé, qui a déjà une belle expérience à son crédit, sur les scènes françaises et internationales (Istanbul, Stockholm, Oslo, Lettonie, Monténégro...), où elle a eu l’occasion de côtoyer de très grands noms, comme le batteur Dave Weckl.